Many young children today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage young people to have a positive attitude towards learning?

Several youngsters are leaving school with a pessimistic learning behaviour. This essay will discuss the main causes of negative learning attitude including high learning expectations and extreme anxiety. This essay will also suggest solutions to these problems, which are teacher-student support and incentives. The learning expectations for students is increasing globally, leading to a constant pressure to measure up to standard. Consequently, it leads to anxiety for the children, especially when they are unable to meet up with the set gold standard. Hence, affecting their performance adversely, consequently, reducing the child's self-confidence. Thereafter, they develop an unfavourable attitude towards learning. For instance, my 10 year old niece spends an average of nine hours in school because the institution wants her students to level up to certain global benchmark. Which over time made her unenthusiastic about learning, particularly, when she is down in the dumps after failing a test.  Understanding the peculiarities of each student is critical in enabling positive learning attitudes. Therefore, teacher-student support programs are needed to understand each child and help them develop an optimistic learning behaviour. Interestingly, Students learn at different paces, some faster than the others. Thus, they should not all be placed on too high a pedestal. Furthermore, incentives like small trophies and crests can boost a learner's confidence after a good performance in a test. For example, when I was a student, my classmates and I always looked forward to attending the lectures of lecturers who gave us incentives after doing well on assessments. In conclusion, a growing number of children are developing negative learning attitudes. This essay discussed how it is often caused by heightened learning expectancy and agitation. Also, it suggested a twofold solution to the problem: improve teacher-student support and rewards.