Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In recent years, more waste is being produced by both industrial firms and individuals. This is because the demand of industrialized products is increasing as a result of the rise of the world's population. Governments may motivate industrial companies and people to recycle wasted products. The production of food -related products has led to an increase in generating waste. Industrial firms, mainly the food and beverage sector, are producing food intensively daily to serve their consumers - such as individuals, hotels, and restaurants. Consequently, these containers that are filled with food are thrown away by consumers resulting in contaminated, unhealthy environment. In Lebanon, for example, peoples' health is in jeopardy due to environmental pollution. Governments, on the other hand, could take a subtle initiative by recycling wasted products. This could be achieved by providing incentives to industrial firms and individuals who would abide by the recycling rules. Alternatively, the government could establish a team of volunteers scattered in condensed areas and clean the streets from the general waste generated by the public. UAE, for example, had established an independent ministry aiming for a sustainable, green environment. This ministry has been proactively setting compelling initiatives to the public to keep their streets clean, safe, and appealing. In conclusion, as the world's population is tremendously increasing, food -related firms operate diligently to serve people with food that are stored in containers. Similarly, governments could play a vital role in motivating firms and individuals to keep the environment healthy, clean, and unpolluted. This can be simply achieved by setting up a committee to look after sustaining.