The ease of international travel and the spread of various lands of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The diffusion of news and less sophisticated means of transport for travelling abroad have blurred the barriers between people from a country to adopt lifestyles across the world. According to the mentioned belief, this trend poses relevant benefits, especially for a developing country; however, there are possible drawbacks to the phenomenon. Since the advent of state-of-the-art transportation and media has proliferated, developing countries whose plans for tourism promotion are initial, have burgeoned thanks to the trend of adopting foreign cultural elements. Due to the fact that some foreign nations offer heterogeneous cultures and costumes, visitors are stimulated by unique experiences and impressions from those places; therefore, except for some gatekeepers, they are likely to recommend such destinations and help attract an influx of other tourists through social forums and media. Additionally, increasing awareness of foreign traditions through exchanging information on mass media is a stepping stone to a world with less discrimination among countries. For instance, the United States, often described as a melting pot of cultures, has been profoundly influenced by generations of immigrants, shaping its diverse national identity. Regardless of the benefits, mass media ’s impacts on a country’s image are unpredictable. The ease of international travel has led to an alarming increase in illegal immigrants, this phenomenon not only presents a jeopardy to the socio-economic status of a country but also the urgent demands for bureaucracies’ actions. The rapid influx of immigrants without proper regulation has led to increased homelessness, widespread poverty, and deteriorating urban conditions, including the expansion of slums, which create rifts in the progressive developments of countries with potential. Moreover, popular tourist destinations may struggle with large crowds of uninformed visitors, leading to environmental degradation and infrastructure deterioration. In conclusion, the proliferating means of media and transport have helped enhance a country’s overall status through international travelling that pushes the domestic tourism industry. Nevertheless, this phenomenon poses a challenge to the sustainable development of emerging economies. From my experience, tightening the controls on international travelling and developing other social aspects are the initial basis for reaping the richness of global recognition.