Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely acknowledged that international travel, the biggest industry worldwide, has greatly contributed to strengthening friendship among nations. However, some critics claim that this phenomenon is creating numerous issues. While I accept that there are problems caused by international tourism, I would argue that benefits from that industry outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are a number of tensions derived from foreign tourists. Firstly, citizens in host countries have been facing the development of terrorism, which is the pressing problem in many countries. For example, there have been a number of fires and bombs carried out by terrorists, who travelled to France or Belgium recently. The implication of this is the rise of worrying in people in those countries. Secondly, littering the environment in tourist places has been the alarming issue. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. There is a huge of rubbish on the beach after tourist seasons, especially plastic waste which is harmful to the sea environment. On the other hand, it is undeniable that travel plays an important role in developing countries’ economy and increasing the understanding between people from different cultures. This industry has been stimulating the development of a wide range of services. For instance, the growth of hotels, restaurants, and food services, which create a lot of jobs. In addition, by emerging different cultural activities, visitors and inhabitants have great chances to understand new cultures. In this way, people in the world can strengthen good relationships. In conclusion, It is true that the negative effects of international tourism are indispensable. While the fact is that there is a tension between tourist and locals, I do believe that the advantages dominate disadvantages mentioned above.