You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge ans experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the present scenario, investment by the governments in railway infrastructure is more worthy than the roadways. I completely agree with said statement, trains are the backbone of the transportation system because of its low cost, it reduces traffic and it is safe. Firstly, running costs of the rails are on the lower side as of the buses and trucks. The trains consume either coal or electricity to operate, whereas, road vehicles run on petrol and diesel. Besides, the crisis of oil availability and its rapidly increasing price is not hidden from the world. For instance, the Indian Railways started implementing an innovative concept, where loaded trucks are carried on wagons and travelled by the rails. This has helped in saving of fuel, saving of time. Secondly, trains help to reduce road traffic because of its high seating capacity and frequency of journeys. If the governments fund in railway, it improves and provides more facilities and everyone will prefer it compare to roadways. For example, a train of Indian Railway named “Jan Seva Express” can carry maximum 2080 passengers. On the other hand, seating capacity of a bus is approximately 32 people. Furthermore, travelling of citizens and goods is safe through railways as it reduces the hassle of driving buses and heavy trucks in extreme conditions. The road accidents are increasing drastically, especially at night. Nevertheless, rails are safer and tracks are easy to improve. This is one of the reasons to spend money on trains. To conclude, according to me, government to invest more in railways as it is safe, fast, runs of cheap fuel and cut down the traffic.