Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for the younger generation. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

Today's generation engages themselves more in spending their spare time in shopping and it has become one of their common hobby. This essay will examine the reasons for this situation, and in the latter half, will discuss the importance of other crucial skills that they should possess. To start with, the major reason for this situation is easy availability of disposable income in the hands of young people. Nowadays, most students prefer to earn income at a very young age and thus, they get into some temporary jobs along with their studies. This further influence them to spend their salary in luxurious activities and most common of them is purchasing new clothes, accessories. Moreover, attractive deals, discounts and other services like cafes, restaurants and theatres in shopping malls persuade them to spend their wages in buying new stuff. For instance, college students usually prefer to meet with their friends in some shopping streets or malls where they can all services at one place. On the other hand, they need to learn the importance of time and get into other productive activities instead of just roaming around and purchasing exorbitant stuff. So, it is imperative for them to equip themselves in various skill sets and nurture a habit of reading different books as it might help them in their future career growth. For instance, there are various online courses available in which they can enrol themselves as per their interest and field of study. This will give them multiple options to learn and work on their skills. To conclude, young kids should learn to value their precious time and make best use of it by doing more valuable and productive activities, instead of just roaming around in shopping centres.