Some people belive that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of future careers has sparked considerable debate in recent times. While some people argue that the best way to succeed is to have further education at a university or college, others maintain that getting a job right after school is a better choice. In my opinion, I totally agree with the former point of view. This essay will explore both sides of this argument before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, there are some arguments in favour of the idea that it is better to get a job straight after school. To begin with, young people can earn money as soon as they get a job and be a part of the workforce. It also means independence to them, they believe that is a way to feel free and no longer be controlled by their parents. Some of them will plan to save up to afford a home or even start a new family right after getting a job. Besides that, high school leavers believe that entering the workforce will make progress to achieve success more quickly. They can gain real experience from learning practical skills while beginning employment. Early promotions and having a successful career are what they aim for when they decide to join the labor force. On the other hand, there are several reasons to support the statement that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career. Initially, the main argument would be that many professions nowadays require academic qualifications. It is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or a lawyer without relevant degree. Having university graduates may give graduated students better opportunities and even higher salaries. Another argument would be the recent increase in competition in the job market. For example, hundreds of applicants have to compete for only one position in a company. It also means that people who have no qualifications may not be able to compete with others. All in all, the facts mentioned above have created a dilemma when people evaluate the effects of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. As far as I am concerned, I put more emphasis on the idea that students should have further education after high school. People should have further consideration on this issue.