Some believe that training is necessary to be a good teacher, others think that teachers don’t need a training course. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is a contentious issue whether or not teacher training is essential for teachers. In my opinion, teachers have a major role to play and therefore they should be trained properly. Like every other skill, teaching skills can also be achieved through practice. Experienced teachers know how to capture the attention of their class by making their lessons interesting. They know how to control a class of 30 or 40 students coming from diverse backgrounds. Hence, the argument that teachers do not require any special training certainly holds some water. However, it takes years to acquire experience. Actually, someone who just starts their career in teaching has no experience to rely on. And because of this lack of experience they may struggle in the initial years. This could hurt their morale and they may even start detesting their career. Since teachers are the ones who mould the future of our young generation, it is important for them to be qualified for their job from day one. They cannot wait for 10 or 15 years to acquire those invaluable teaching skills. Training courses impart those skills reasonably well. When aspiring teachers attend a training course, they get to know what they can expect from their job. This knowledge makes them better equipped to deal with the challenges of their profession. In conclusion, although years of working as a teacher can help teachers develop essential teaching skills, any kind of deficiency can create problems. Hence, I believe that proper training is essential to become a good mentor.