Nowadays many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Why has this change happened? What are the effects of this change? Give relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

People’s attitudes have been changed towards the usage of everyday possessions. The trend is increasing to buy new items and throw away the used ones instead of repairing them. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the change in the following text. The most persuasive reason is related to the maintenance cost. In many countries the labour rate is high and due to that repairing the old belongings cost much more than the price of new items. Another reason is concerned with the range of available products in the market. In the contemporary era, hypermarkets are filled with a range of items that people are attracted to purchase and want to get rid of their existing in-use items. For instance, the Guardian newspaper recently published a report that consumption of new products from the markets has been increased by 20% from the past few years. The significant consequence of this attitude is the that raw materials such as trees, metals and coal is being used exponentially for the manufacturing of items and the world has been lost a lot of natural resources for the reason. Furthermore, disposing the used and damaged things adding up to the litter problem as everything cannot be degradable and recycled. Wastes are playing a crucial role to damage the environment. For example, as per WHO the pollution has risen 8% in the last five years, especially in the fast-growing cities. In conclusion, human tendency has been changed from using the possessions they own. Major factors for the transition of this attitude are the repair cost and the availability of new product ranges. Despite of having the valid reasons, there are few negative impacts on the environment and should be taken care in the future.