Nowadays many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Why has this change happened? What are the effects of this change? Give relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, we are living in a high-tech world, where in terms of advancement in technology; the sky is a limit. Today, people's tendency is to buy a new product instead of repairing the existing one. There are several factors to influence this change and effects are also noticeable. Forthcoming paragraphs shall elaborate some examples to address this issue. Firstly, advancements in technology is leading to the up-gradation of products on a daily basis. Whereas, there is no limit on the product range. Moreover, we can find a similar item with little up-gradation in some other brand which mostly tempts the people to buy it. Furthermore, in some countries labour is quite expensive, so, the repair cost associated with the product becomes too high. Therefore, instead of repairing items people prefer to buy a new item. For instance, guardian conducted a result which reveals that the purchase of new products have increased to 20% in a few years. The significant consequence of this attitude is that raw materials such as coal, tree and metal is being used exponentially for the manufacturing of items and the world has been lost a lot of natural resources for the reason. Additionally, disposing the used and damaged things adding up to the litter problem as everything cannot be degradable and recycled. Wastes are playing a crucial role to damage the environment. For example, as per WHO pollution has risen to 8% in the last 5 years, especially in the fast-growing cities. In conclusion, human tendency has now changed to buy new products rather than repairing the damaged ones due to their availability and high maintenance cost. Despite of having the valid reasons, this is leading to the destruction of the environment and necessary measures should be taken to avoid this change.