Some developed countries have reduced the number of school hours. Is this a positive or a negative development.

The education system these days going through a lot of challenges and complexities in the world. Advanced nations have shortened the academic hours. I think this would lead to adverse effect on the pupils. On the downside, firstly the parents who are working full time have an extra burden of child care expense. They tend to have more responsibility to pick up and drop off after institute for child care. Secondly, less school hours could effect on children's academic level. If students spend more time in class, then he would grasp the more knowledge from teacher and other children. For instance, a study shows that 80% of Canadian students are more active and intelligent who are spending more than 7 hours in schools. Finally, scholar will get some time to do extra curriculum activities during institute hours.  On the positive side, if the children are spending less time in school, they would get to spend quality time with their family and also learn moral and ethical values from their parents. Moreover, they could indulge in social activities and get time to attend advanced classes after school time. To sum up, shortened school hours negative side overweight the positive side.