Many high street shops gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it negative or positive development?

It is true that there is an ever-decreasing number of traditional brick-and-mortar stores. Personally, I think the main reason leading to this phenomenon is the appearance of the online shop. While it can be argued that people can get a lot of benefits from this, I believe that this is a negative trend in the long run. There are a lot of reasons why the development of internet shopping to make traditional stores shut down. Firstly, buying products in web-based stores are faster and more convenient. Buyers just need to sit at home and find the products that they want to purchase and receive the delivery the next day. Secondly, the products which we buy on internet stores are cheaper than those of normal stores. To attract customers, web-based stores frequently launch many promotions or discount programs. Finally, sellers do not need to pay much money in their store on the internet. While I accept that online shopping can sometimes have a positive effect on the buyer, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. In conclusion, web-based stores are one of the head reasons which make high street shops gone out of business. It seemed to me that the negative development of this trend is more significant than the possible benefits.