Some people think that children should not watch television because it has negative effects, while others believe that television helps children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, there are various visual sources of education, and television being one of them. However, the topic of whether it has positive or adverse effects on children and their growth have always been debated. There are valid arguments for both the sides, but in my view, television can be best utilized a source of information under the constant supervision of parents. On the one hand, watching channels such as Discovery, NatGeo and BBC kids will increase the awareness level among children regarding our earth, wildlife, ocean life, extreme weathers and modern innovations. To elaborate, such episodes help them in school quiz preparations, general knowledge subject, and home assignment completion. Moreover, these interesting episodes can help children in selecting their stream which they want to pursue in the future. Additionally, it is regarded as a better leisure activity and source of entertainment than playing video games. On the other hand, some parents argue against watching it due to their concern of broadcasting the violent and dangerous content on it. For instance, the children are considered as the most vulnerable age group in learning from these illicit acts and mimicking them. In fact, this can increase the chances of developing antisocial behaviour among them and thus, subsequently rising the juvenile delinquency. Apart from it, the more prolonged sitting in the front of the screen will predispose them to disorder associated with eyesight and sedentary lifestyle such as obesity, thyroid and muscular problems. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of few demerits which can be avoided by the parent’s supervision, children should be allowed to watch television to widen their horizons of the knowledge bank.