Some people say that spending time to develop a successful career is the most important thing. Other says that spending time with friends and family is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question on whether to spend the majority of time on building a successful professional life or on strengthening the family bond has always been debatable. There are valid explanations for either side, but in my view, a person should try to achieve a work life balance in this rapidly growing competitive world. On the one hand, the era of globalization and materialism has increased the level of expectations which makes the job highly demanding. For instance, tech employee has always to be stay upgraded with the new computer languages and software to survive in this growing world of science and technology. Similarly, health care workers have to update their clinical knowledge and skills to fight every day with the new diseases and its complications. Thus, one has to put the extra laborious efforts in order to stay with the pace of time and new developments. Additionally, completing the number of job assignments and projects will help companies in its growth and thus, subsequently making the employee eligible for the various perks, incentives, promotion, and salary hike. This further gives a financial security and raises the standard of living. On the other hand, the family is the basic unit of the society which teaches the strength of unity and harmony. People should find the leisure time to spend with their partner, children, parents and friends because they are the ones who help in the unfortunate circumstances. Apart from it, a healthy home environment gives a good mental and emotional support which indirectly helps in raising the productivity and efficiency at the work place. To recapitulate, I opine that one should learn to strike a balance between the professional responsibilities and family commitments because both of these aspects of life are interrelated. A successful career is required to finance the needs of family members, and the healthy relations for the better work efficiency.