Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days people care far less for history, than they used to do. It is part of our life and it helps shape it. I am completely against this idea, and in this essay, I will support my view, that we would not have any culture or knowledge of who we really are without history. First and foremost, learning about our origin should be considered as a privilege and a lot of us do not realize how important it is to study about it. Because of the days of the past, we are able to differentiate cultures, inside or outside countries. The explanation for people in Spain, dancing the tango, or Italians care so much about their gastronomy, lie in their old days. They learnt all of it from their ancestors. Another reason why I agree with this statement is the fact, that history plays an enormous role in tourism. I can confirm, from my own experience, that locations with historical backgrounds tend to be a lot more interesting. Standing in fields where once the mightiest soldiers from Greece fought, for what they believed in, or seeing the ruins in Italy, which were built at the command of Caesar and still standing, should be one of the most memorable moments of everybody’s life. On the other hand, too much of our past can easily encourage one to become obsessed with it and not necessarily in a good way. For instance, I have seen persons who acted like they were re-living the whole world war again and I cannot say that it was a peaceful sight to watch. In conclusion, every living person should value a lot more the past, as it is part of us, whether they like it or not. Also, it is viewed as the most important aspect in shaping our uniqueness