Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued, that the authorities should invest more money in public transportation, such as rail lines, rather than roads. I totally agree with this idea, and in this essay I will support my opinion with relevant examples. Firstly, pollution is increasing dramatically, especially in the well-developed cities. In my opinion, introducing more trains and improving the railway facilities would help to avoid this international environmental issue. Although driving a car is more comfortable and quicker than any other public transport, usage of trains would definitely have more benefits. Take as an example Luxembourg, where public transportation is free, and in this way people often take that option in consideration. Another reason why I agree, is because this kind of transport is safer than using a car. So if people wouldn't have good roads, they wouldn't drive and in this way, traffic congestion and accidents could be reduced as well. Like for instance, in my country the road from Brasov to Bucharest is always very crowded, mainly because people think that it is quicker to get to the final destination, but unfortunately, it is the place where the most accidents happen during the peak hours. However, other people may think that roadways should be improved, so that they could drive safely and with high speed without facing any other problems. In conclusion, I think that investing in better transportation facilities would have benefits and drawbacks, but the best idea is to put money in better railway lines, and take the example of Luxembourg.