In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Surprisingly these days, we are witnessing an increase in investigations conducted by people in the houses they stay. In this essay, I will summon a few possible reasons behind this rationale and the methods that can help achieve this. One potential explanation for this trend could be to understand the value of the building. Every individual may want to know the value of investments that they hold, including the property they bought. Conducting a study concerning its history may help in valuing the depreciation. The optimistic aspect of it would be to identify any antique items within the premises that can provide a lucrative deal if sold to museums. Moreover, some people believe in negative energies. They often connect these energies as the reason for any setbacks in their life. Therefore, learning about the history will guide them in taking any steps to address the issues they face. Finally, these studies will bring people closer to the place they live and offer a sense of belonging. Getting the history of any house or building may not be very easy. I believe the initial location for research should be the City Corporation as they track records of all previous residents in their area. Local libraries may also be approached for old images or maps that can help in the investigation. Another option would be to talk to neighbours, especially those who have been in the community for a longer period. They can provide insights about people who lived earlier in the house. Finally, archaeologists who are proficient in assessing the property can be hired, if the motive is to value the asset. To conclude, numerous reasons such as valuing their asset, researching the cause for their personal setbacks, and fostering bonds might be the probable reasons behind the trend of conducting research on their home. Approaching local city bodies, libraries and local residents are the few methods to conduct the research.