The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved ?

These days, there is a massive increase in the number of people who are facing some major health issues owing to the overweight body. Although there are many factors which contribute to this issue, increased fast food consumption and peoples' sedentary lifestyle are the primary reasons. One of the major causes for the increase in overweight people in today's society is the sedentary lifestyle of working professionals. Many professions, these days, require long sitting hours, as compared to the past. Employers have become more demanding; thus, people have to work for long hours in their offices. As a result, they get very less time for exercise and other health activities. Another reason of this problem is increased consumption of fast food by public, especially youth. Many people do not have culinary skill, or they do not get time to cook for themselves. Therefore, they usually rely on fast food, which result in fat accumulation on the body. There are a number of solutions which can be implemented to control this growing concern of overweight people. Firstly, the government should encourage people to indulge in healthy activities such as daily exercises and regular walks. To do so, public transport facilities should be improved, so that people can at least take a walk to the nearest stop while commuting to the office. Another way to control this problem is by putting a ban on the fast food commercials. As people get attracted to fast food items whenever they see any advert on TV. In conclusion, more people are becoming overweight due to the busy lifestyle and consumption of fast food. Putting a ban on fast food commercials and encouraging people to adopt exercise in daily routine are possible ways to solve this issue.