Some people think that international car-free day will help in reducing fuel usage and air pollution. Others believe there is an effective alternative to this. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Increasing air pollution and excessive use of fossil fuels, are two major concerns of this century. In the viewpoint, of some people, celebrating a car free day around the world, can help reduce both, while others think there are better alternatives to address both the issues. In my view, more innovative solutions, that can have long lasting impacts for the betterment of society, are possible. This essay will argue to augment my opinion. On one hand, if citizens all around the globe, choose not to utilize their automobile for a day, it will reduce air contamination to a certain extent due to less combustion of fuels. Additionally, as people will resort to public transportation or bicycles to travel from one place to another, it will also bring down the consumption of fossil fuels. To cite an example, in the USA alone, 7.47 billion barrels of petroleum products are used regularly, out of which 50% is used by private vehicle owners, which can be brought down to about half, by observing the given event. However, this solution is temporary, as well as largely ineffective in the long term. There are several effective measures that can be implemented. Firstly, the governments should encourage the public, to utilize buses and trains to commute around the cities. This can be done by creating awareness among the people about the limited quantity of non-renewable fuels as well as the health hazards of pollution. For instance, local authorities can broadcast ads on the telly and hand out pamphlets to educate people about it. Secondly, strict rules should be implemented for the industries and factories to utilize only pollution free technologies in the production process, which will prevent the release of harmful contaminants in the environment. To illustrate this, they should be asked to install filters in the chimneys. Both the above countermeasures can improve the quality of air for everyone and decrease the consumption of limited fuels. To conclude, even though celebrating a car free day all around the planet, can decrease contamination and use of fuels, it is not a feasible long term remedy. In my opinion, more practical ideas such as encouraging the people to take public transits and making stricter regulations for industries will help humanity win this battle.