Some people say that excessive noise should be a criminal offence while other say they should be free to make noise without limitations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is suggested by many people that too much noise should be regulated as a crime. While, some others assert that people should have the freedom to make noise without restrictions. In my opinion, even though excessive noise can be a great distraction and annoying we should tolerate it to a certain level. Some people say that making too much noise should be an offence. It is true that it can be annoying and distracting for everyone, especially for those who focus on their work or studies. Secondly, some people are naturally very sensitive to any sound, and if we like in a society we should respect everyone, not merely those who want to make limitless noise. Finally, the periodic sounds and noise might damage the brain functions. For example, noise is used as an efficient means to torture enemies in the ancient times. On the other hand, we live in a society in which everyone should respect and tolerate each other. We are living together with millions of people and some unnecessary sounds are inevitable. In other words, neighbours should tolerate excessive noise and some disliked and rude behaviours as well to a certain level. This level should be determined from an objective standpoint, by evaluating both sides' benefits. Deliberately making noise in order to damage someone is already a crime in most countries. However, not every noise and excessive sound aim to damage the other side. For instance, making sounds periodically, which is above a certain decibel is a petty crime in Japan according to the Japanese Criminal Code. In conclusion, noise is a great distraction and it might be extremely irritating in some situations. However, I believe that we should tolerate it to some extent.