With the coming of new mass communication media like television and internet, newspaper is losing its importance. Do you agree with this or not?

The face of communication changed with the advent of the magazine as it became very easy to communicate with people at large and spread any message. As technology advanced, mass media like TV set and Internet came offering more services. It was believed that journal will soon be disregarded as an outdated scheme of media. However, did not happen and does not seem a reality in the near future. It is said that journal is the most common pattern of media connected to almost everyone's life. For most of us, the day begins with a journal which means that reading weekly along with bed-tea is a daily routine of many people. Furthermore, the periodical has many advantages over other media such as radio, television and the internet, which can be put up as follows. One can read tabloid at his own convenience. It offers a great deal of flexibility as it can be read anytime, anywhere and in any frequency. It is cheap and convenient to carry. It can be piled up, so one also has the benefit of referring to some old news if required. It puts more stress on the local news. Moreover, it definitely improves our language skills. It also provides some extra benefits like one can get information about radio and television programmes as well as train schedules. It includes advertisements for businesses, shops, educational institutes, matrimony etc. And job vacancies. It also provides entertainment in the scheme of jokes, cartoons, crossword etc. Magazine supplements carry articles covering a variety of topics ranging from entertainment to religious preaching. "Ascent" in he Times of India is a supplement that provides valuable career- and management-related knowledge, which is of use to every ambitious person. Thus, it is obvious that no other media facility can replace daily. It was an important scheme of media in the past and would continue to maintain its position for the coming many years.