Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

transportation system is one of the most significant factors which describes the level of a nation's progress. a majority of people argue that national funds should be dedicated to improving the infrastructure of railways as they are more eco-friendly and economically effective. I completely agree with this idea and I will explain why in this essay. to begin with, above all features, railways are more eco-friendly, as a result of producing fewer amount of carbon emissions compared to road vehicles and mass transportation. For instance, trains and inner-city metros can transfer a high number of cargo and passengers in one journey. in addition, the connectivity and accessibility of all parts of nations through railway networks boost local economy and tourism, therefore, leading to regional development. Furthermore, although constructing roads is more convenient and cheaper, and also maintained for longer periods than trains, the rail systems are more economically justified. for instance, metros are very expensive for governments due to the high expenditures of building ways and purchasing facilities, but they can transfer thousands of people in a day, so the ticket sales will fulfil the financial requirements. finally, offering a reliable alternative transportation mode, reduces traffic congestion and leads to less time spent in traffic and a lower level of stress for individuals. In conclusion, it seems that railways are more essential infrastructures to improve people's lifestyles in terms of economy, environment and development, and authorities ought to devote a huge portion of their financial budgets to preserving and expanding railways.