In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In this contemporary era, the world is changing by leaps and bounds. Nowadays, people eat more fast food than the traditional food. So, some people believe that it is laymen choice of what to eat or not, whereas the others argue that the government should levy higher taxes on this type of food. I totally agree with the latter view. It has more pros outweigh cons. First and foremost, the eating habits of people have changed dramatically in last 10 years. It is undeniable that many citizens suffering from health problems due to excessive consumption of junk food. This food, not only contains high fat, but also it contains sugar, which is a root cause of obesity and because of this human body suffers with other health related diseases such as diabetes. Also, these ingredients are more harmful for human body. In addition to the above, the best way to get rid of this food is to impose higher tax. In most countries, middle income people eat this food rapidly, owing to this if the state imposes higher taxes on such items, then the financial burden of laymen increases, because of this they will think twice before buying such products. Moreover, the government will run some awareness campaigns to aware people about the consequences of consuming junk food. To conclude, banning these food items is the best way to stop it, but government cannot do this. So, levy some taxes on such products, not only halt citizens, but also this is a good way to support the economy of the country as well.