In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Reselling is the new trend. The generation of today prefers purchasing used goods, over new ones. There are many reasons behind this inclination and in my view, this is a good development as it reduces waste and helps people save money. This essay will discuss the main causes as well as the pros of buying used items. There are myriad reasons for shopping second hand items. Firstly, it is economical for the households. For example, a number of branded items can be bought at thrift stores at about half the prices or lower than that, which brings down the expenses. Additionally, used branded clothes or electronics tend to last longer, compared to cheap Unbranded items. To cite an example, a used Revlon dryer, will probably function for an extended amount of time, in comparison to the inferior quality hair dryer. This imparts the consumers the value for the dollars spent. Buying utilised things, is a favourable development, as it protects the environment. Due to tons of items being discarded regularly, increasing landfills are becoming a major concern for the nations. The issue can be addressed when citizens buy used merchandise, instead of letting it rot in the garbage. Furthermore, the pollution due to manufacturing can be decreased, as the demand for new items decrease. For instance, to produce a single cotton shirt, one pound of chemicals which release harmful contaminants in the surrounding, are needed. Hence, this contamination can be eliminated if more and more individuals choose to thrift clothing, accessories and electronics. Moreover, when used items are purchased, it benefits not only the customer, but also the seller. To illustrate it, alternatively, the unnecessary clutter, can be sold at affordable prices, which benefits the consumer and the owner can earn money from it too. Thus, it is a win-win situation for both the parties. To conclude, the awareness among human civilization about the necessity of reducing expenses as well as the upsides of using branded goods are the main causes of the trend. In my view, it is a very positive advancement, as it affects the planet positively, while financially helping out the common man.