Some people think it is better for children to grow up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

It is often argued whether the city is a better place for a child’s upbringing than the countryside. While cities have the required facilities for children ’s development, the busy life there might have detrimental effects on them. Country life, by contrast, is a healthier place to grow up, but may lack the necessary infrastructure. To begin with, living in cities provides children the opportunity to learn and explore, but could also cause grief and anxiety among them. Firstly, a good educational infrastructure, found only in cities, is a must for any child. They learn more effectively if necessary learning facilities, such as schools, libraries and play areas, are present where they can socialise, practise their hobbies and learn new skills. Nevertheless, growing up in the city may result in developing feelings of loneliness. It is often seen that both parents need to be employed in order to support a good standard of living in cities, where the cost of living is relatively high. Their absence can lead to anxiety and eventually depression among young children due to a lack of emotional support. On the other hand, countryside living grants an opportunity to live a healthy life, although it may lack the necessary facilities needed for learning. The countryside is often more conducive to children ’s health, because of the fresh, healthy air, uncontaminated water and being able to access food and vegetables directly from the source. This is a major boon because natural products from the surroundings could be used as food ingredients for cooking, making it healthier. However, rural areas are unlikely to have an established schooling programme, which is a major drawback. Without a learning environment, children might not develop any interest at all in their studies. Consequently, these children may end up being less smart than their counterparts in cities, which could hamper their future prospects. To conclude, children growing up in cities tend to have ample learning opportunities. By contrast, in rural areas, they seldom get a chance to focus on their development. Conversely, in cities, the lack of attention causing loneliness is something of a concern, while the healthy lifestyle of country life is an attractive option.