More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recent decades have witnessed a surge in the desire to purchase luxurious items. Although this phenomenon does have a fair share of positiveness in economic stimulation, it is still fraught with pitfalls. Stating an exact contributor to this trend is not easy as it has more to do with personal preferences, but still, there are several other reasons. First, brand names are more often than not associated with status and wealth. In fact, if a person wears expensive clothes and accessories from acclaimed companies like Hermes or Chanel, he or she is more likely to gain acceptance and impression on others simply because the prices of these items are unaffordable that you have the financial means for affordable to low-income people. Also, purchasing costly items can be deemed as a mean to alleviate stress from a hectic working schedule. To be more specific, many people perform this as a retail therapy since they can derive a sense of achievement and self-worth from being able to buy and possess luxury goods. There are some drawbacks lying hidden in this seemingly harmless trend. The primary one is that utilizing and wearing all the same products, even expensive ones, may come at the expense of individuality. For example, a person can face criticism or alienation if he or she uses a different product while everyone else uses another. Thus, this person will have a need to sacrifice his or her taste to blend in with society. Moreover, owning brand names can become an unhealthy obsession for the young generation. Juveniles, many of them still struggle with an identity crisis, can be deceived into thinking expensive items represent for their value and lured into committing delinquencies. In conclusion, status recognition and stress relief are what people seek when making a purchase of luxury goods. To me, this trend is more detrimental overall.