The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved ?

The rate of obesity, which causes several health challenges is tremendously high in people. The causes and possible solutions will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the majority have busy work schedules and therefore eat in fast foods rather than cook in their homes. Most of these restaurants serve junks that could lead to increase in weight. In addition, many food outlets are concerned about making a profit, so they do not use the freshest and best ingredients to prepare their meals. Also, the oil used in cooking usually has high cholesterol because it is less expensive, spices and preservatives are also used and the accumulations of this could pose well-being problems such as high blood pressure as a result of too much salt. Another point is that people lead a sedentary lifestyle, many youths just sit in their offices with no activities and some are even jobless due to the global economic crisis that have generated a desperate situation for plenty of families across the world especially in developing countries like Nigeria. Moreover, people do not take action after reading, fitness articles unless people that have close shave and a bit scared. Going to gyms and regular exercise burns fat. The solution to this problem is that individuals should be educated on the importance of keeping fit and healthy living. There should be heightened awareness of food and nutrition as well as public campaigns. For instance, when children and adolescents consume less fatty meals and take more of vegetables and fruits with consistent exercise, they woulda drastic reduction of health challenges. Therefore, individuals should create time for preparing their foods at home, thereby reducing diseases like type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and heart problems. In conclusion, the Government should make a conscious effort by subsidising fees in gyms and recreational facilities. Also, there should be sensitisation everyone, especially in rural communities. "A healthy Nation is a wealthy Nation ".