People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced global society, countless individuals migrate abroad for a better quality of life. Many advocates that people conform to local customs and traditions when settling in a new country. I strongly agree with this idea because of some problems and benefits that people can face with them. There are two essential reasons newcomers should blend into the local culture in the host country. Firstly, refusing to adapt to the host environment would create a cultural barrier for immigrants. This leads to social isolation, which negatively influences people ’s lives. Secondly, limited knowledge of local customs may result in some illegal actions in the host country and make local people unpleased. For instance, in Singapore, one of the cleanest countries in Asia, residents consider anyone dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street or spit gum in public. Newcomers can benefit if they adopt a new country ’s customs and traditions. One benefit is that if immigrants behave according to the local norms, they will be accepted readily by local inhabitants. As a result, they can gain respect and affection and some help from the locals. For example, when enterprises want to expand their production in a new country, they must be aware of business practices there, providing them with helpful information to maximize profits. Another benefit is that newcomers gain a rich knowledge of local customs and traditions, enabling them to participate actively in the community’s activities. In many festivals, people can participate freely and feel harmonious like their country. In conclusion, embracing local customs and traditions is not merely beneficial for immigrants to integrate socially and psychologically but is essential for fostering a sense of community and mutual respect in our increasingly interconnected world.