Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the people think that a nation should be self sufficient in growing their own crops for the entire residents, thereby reducing the import of food items to as less as it could be. However, I disagree with it because of two major reasons. To begin with, each crop requires an ideal climate and soil for their growth and therefore it is not possible to produce every type of food in one country. To cite an example, apples require cold weather to grow and therefore middle eastern desert countries like UAE, Saudi Arabia, etc. Will have to import it from other apple producing countries. There are still many fruits, vegetables and grains that are unable to grow in deserts. Hence, it would not be practical to just rely on the minimal home grown crops. Therefore, a country will have to rely on other nations for food commodities. In addition to it, once importing is reduced, there would be a price hike in locally produced crops. It is because, product quantities that are available locally would be less and subsequently the price also would soar due to high demand. It would result in no profit to anyone. As a result, most countries import items to stabilise the economy. In conclusion, it is argued by most people argue that a country must produce its own food for the entire nation. However, I strongly believe that importing is necessary as different crops require various environmental factors to grow and less import results in a rise in the cost of commodities.