Some feel that it is important for all adults to engage in the arts in the free time as a hobby. Others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out by some that participating in art clubs or classes during leisure time is crucial for all adults, other people do not agree with this idea. Personally, I completely agree with this thought as joining an art club has benefits in terms of people’s development. On the one hand, some individuals, including me, suggest that taking part in art classes has advantages regarding creativity and problem-solving. The reason is that, unlike scientific fields, paintings or drawings are not judged by a universal standard. As a result, when creating their own masterpieces, they are not afraid of trying different ways to express themselves, which encourages them to think outside the box and cultivates creative thinking. When facing problems in daily life, they are more likely to think about the solutions from different angles, thus improving their problem-solving ability. For instance, several senior executives in accounting firms state that their companies have started organising free weekly painting classes for their employees since last year. They are aware that after attending this activity, a significant proportion of their workers’ imagination and problem-solving skills are enhanced, which enables them to introduce new and efficient ways to tackle issues. On the other hand, other people believe that developing hobbies in physical activities is more vital than participating in the arts. This is because doing daily exercise can enhance the immune system and help us build a strong body, which lowers the risk of catching several illnesses, thus allowing adults to have longevity and to be able to enjoy their lives. As an illustration, those who are in their sixties and seventies say that joining a tennis course organised by the local community not only provides them with a chance to develop a new hobby but also improves their physical well-being, which helps them to have excellent physical condition to enjoy their later years. In conclusion, people may have different opinions about whether it is essential for all adults to take part in the arts as their hobby in their leisure time, while I am of the opinion that participating in the arts is extremely important since it is beneficial to the development of creative thinking and problem-solving skills for individuals.