For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that school children are at an impressionable age, and their parents and teachers are two primary sources directly affect their development. While I accept that teachers play a crucial part in providing knowledge and improving youngsters' intelligence, I would argue that parents have the major impact on social skills of their children. In terms of encouraging the intellectual improvement and stimulating the intelligence of school children, I believe that teachers play the major role. Teachers are the inspirers who broaden pupil’s knowledge and enhance their level of academic performance. For instance, many people admit that they had been inspired by their devoted teachers and continue to pursue the knowledge. Of course, at home parents might also reinforce this passion by encouraging study habits during the formative years of their children. Such support is vital for academic achievement. From the perspective of social development, on the other hand, parents are children’s closest connectors, have significant influence on their children. Firstly, at a young age, youngsters always learn about the world by mimicking their parents. Their development is affected by the surrounding environment and then by watching their parents' actions, children passively absorb those social skills. Secondly, while teachers manage to provide information for the whole class, parents are the one who spending most of the time with their children, so that they have more chances to adjust children behaviour and teach them what are right and wrong. These might include showing respect towards elders, choices of friends or proper behaviour in public when eating out at restaurants. In conclusion, I reiterate my strong view that although teachers probably have a greater impact on developing children's intelligence, parental influences on the development of children is stronger in social situations.