teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is believed by some educational experts that international exchange would benefit all adolescents in schools. In my view, the advantages of exchange study in a foreign country outweigh its disadvantages. There are several benefits for teenage students studying overseas for a short period of time. Firstly, this opportunity allows students to improve their foreign language skills. By studying and living with other natural speakers, students would be exposed to a foreign language environment, therefore they can practice the language every day and everywhere. Another benefit is that teenagers who study in another country can gain some independent living skills. Without the assistance of their parents, students have to learn how to cook and how to manage money by themselves, which equips them with practical skills that would be useful in the future. Finally, students can also take this opportunity to learn about a different culture. For example, they are able to know local traditions and customs through experiencing a different lifestyle and participating in local community activities. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this should not be ignored. International student exchange is expensive, as students need to spend more money on accommodation, fight tickets and tuition fees. Undoubtedly, this may put a financial burden on their families, and not all families can afford a study trip like this. Then some students would get homesick if they cannot see their parents and friends. Also, They may also find it difficult to make new friends in a new environment and experience a cultural shock. In conclusion, despite of those disadvantages such as costs and difficulty in making friends, I still believe that the advantages of exchange international study outweigh its disadvantages because it supports students to practice foreign languages, acquire independent living skills and gain knowledge of local culture.