Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Time is altering and so are the peoples’ disparate viewpoints about whether to keep animals in zoos is beneficial or not. Although it is argued by many that zoos could be brutal, as the large number of captivated animals do not live in, the quality conditions, it is demonstrated by this essay that this may not be the case, Inasmuch as zoos provide rare or endangered animals with a golden opportunity to have a greater life expectancy. Throughout the following paragraphs, these will be meticulously scrutinized to uphold the latter rational standpoint. It is believed by many that some zoos or wildlife parks are not suitable to keep animals, looked at in one way. Take inferior zoos holding animals in the both cramped cages or small enclosures, without enough nutritious feeding, as a salient example. Animals are heavily prone to starvation and lack of space, when are captivated in the unsuitable artificial environment, thus trampling the animal rights. By shedding on this example, holding animals in the substandard wildlife parks not only is it considered as an unbehavioral deed, but also puts animals in the jaws of death. This notion, however, is discredited by this essay, because the striking benefit of zoos can prevail over its probable demerit. Looking at in another way, it is advocated by some that protecting the rare species in the zoo could be a boon to animals, since they will be survived from the potential risks of the natural environments. For example, a recent research conducted by some veteran zoologists, in Germany, reveals that they have achieved impressive great breakthroughs in saving some rare species of feral animals that were on the verge of extinction. Doing so, if professionally-run breeding programs are offered by zoos, the large number of endangered species can be protected from serious threats in the wild such as predators, disease and drought. Therefore, zoos have a profound role to play in increasing the life expectancy of rare animals. To recapitulate, after careful situational analysis of the merit and demerit of zoos, it deems that while views differ about the overall impact of wildlife parks on the captivated animals, it is agreed by this essay that zoos make a positive contribution to saving endangered animals. It is, hence, hoped that these points will be taken into consideration by authorities, in the foreseeable future, across the world.