Moden children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevelent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Experts throughout both developing and developed nations believe that ever since the industrialization, the society has witnessed some major lifestyle changes. These days a vast majority of the human population, especially the teenagers are struggling to maintain their weight on the healthy side of the scale. Since this issue is more prominent among the children, it is very essential for the administration to prevent the growth of this epidemic. In this essay, I shall discuss the causes and suggest some solutions to mitigate this issue. To begin with, the lack of physical activity and over consumption of junk food are the two predominant factors which are significantly responsible for making children obese. In theory, due to the advent of sophisticated modern technologies such as laptops, many teenagers across the globe either prefer to play video game or watch movies over playing any physical sport. For instance, a recent study published by the Oxford University illustrated that more 93% of high school students live a sedentary life. Further to this, owing to the ease of availability and affordable price range offered by the fast food outlets, many students eat pizza and burgers for the lunch on a daily basis. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the poor eating habits and lack of exercising are a major cause behind this epidemic. Considering the solutions, the professional education institutions should introduce a mandatory physical education lessons in the school curriculum. Having more sports activities in school will result in children developing an interest towards exercising. In addition, the government should impose high tariff rates upon the purchase of convenience food. This would not only limit the expansion rate of these outlets, but will also discourage the younger generation to purchase such items. In conclusion, this is a topic which time after time results in a heated colloquy among the society, but from the reasons stated above, I am inclined to say that if the above suggestions are implemented then the battle against obesity can be fought more effectively.