People are now living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short period of time and then thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it cause?

Many a times, this is argued that use and throw is a problem. In this, essay, I will discuss its advantages and disadvantages, in detail. Firstly, to understand this, from where this concept is derived, we need to discuss the olden days and the present day situations. Generally, in olden days, people used to live in the joint families and females used to stay at home. Now, the trend has been changed. Many are nuclear families and are working couples. For example, in joint families in olden day clothes were used for the babies for their pottery. Since, today many are nuclear and working couples, obviously, they will not have time and patience for clothe changing and all. For instance, diapers have come into the picture. Many a times, working couple is tired after they come back from the job, and they go to use and throw cups and plates to avoid washing of dishes and vessels. This is also widely adopted in function halls and in big gatherings, now in these days. These are all the advantages, I have discussed. There are different types of use and throw items made up of different materials. For instance, Glass, plastic and papers are the few different materials to name a few. Glass and plastic can be recycled and papers can be burnt. To discuss the disadvantages, for instance, plastic carry bags became widespread. Sometimes this is, consumed by birds and animals on land and caused the death for them. Same thing in the ocean and seas. When this is thrown in the sea, consumed by fishes and other sea creatures and caused the death for them. Furthermore, this is a costly habit of going always for use and throw. To conclude, for instance, plastic carry bags must be banned and to be replaced with cloth carry bags.