In many nations, it is becoming mandatory to receive vaccinations in order to prevent the spread of disease. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a number of countries, vaccinations are being made mandatory as a preventive measure to the outbreak of disease. I believe that this initiative is a positive trend because it is beneficial to global health and economic growth. Firstly, vaccines have been proven to be the most effective and cheapest way to protect human beings against harmful viruses. This is to say that herd immunity created by a vast majority of the vaccinated population can effectively fend off the outbreak of illnesses and it can even protect those who cannot vaccinate for religious or medical reasons. For instance, throughout human history, there have been a number of dangerous diseases being completely eradicated by vaccinations, such as smallpox or polio and in the future, if more people being vaccinated, there would be millions of lives saved from similar scenarios. Furthermore, compulsory immunization is a positive development because it sustains economic growth during the spread of disease. Job loss, work stagnation, broken supply chains and other foreseeable adverse economic consequences of a disastrous pandemic are quite likely to be prevented only by getting all employees immunized sufficiently. This not only ensures normal business operation but also reduces the burden on the healthcare system in case of an unexpected spread. For example, the COVID-19 epidemic that broke out in 2019 forced many economies into unprecedented times of recession and not until the invention of vaccinations that life was brought back to normal. In conclusion, people are required to get vaccinated on a global scale so as to fight off the spread of illness and this is believed to be a positive development because of its significant contribution to human health and the economy.