Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media is increasingly popular among people. Though it keeps you in contact with different people and gives you the latest updates it makes your personal information prone to more risks and threats. In my opinion, demerits of such technology will have detrimental effects and overpower the merit of the same. One of the greatest benefits of social media is that it has brought the whole world closer. It has made the world compact in terms that we can talk to any person at any time and can view their activities as well just through an application. Further, we get easy access to the events happening around the globe and can be a part of it. For instance, a person sharing a live video of the music concert in America can be witnessed by all members of the friend list. Overall, such automation allows understanding different cultures and adopting new things. On the contrary, such technology has disadvantages as well in terms of risking the privacy of the people. At present, the crimes are rising at an alarming rate, especially the cyber crime. It is quite difficult to distinguish between the genuine profiles and the fake ones. The hackers hack the account and may misuse the data shared on social media. People are habitual of sharing their recent activities on social media. Such information works as a golden opportunity for robbers. In total, the disadvantages of such technology may have a broader reach to people. In conclusion, the increasing use of social media is affecting the lives of the people. Despite it provides the scope of reducing the cultural disparities, it may lead you to fall in major troubles as well. Therefore, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, keeping the safety of people in mind.