Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the cities are known for their beautiful structures. Undoubtedly, a huge amount is involved in their maintenance. It is suggested that rather than spending more on ancient buildings, they should be demolished to build new ones. This essay will argue and discuss the need behind the destruction of such structures. Keeping aside all the modernisation in the country, the value of heritage cannot be underestimated. Two main features are connected to this. Firstly, a lot of emotional quotients is being attached to such buildings for the people who are working there for so long. Secondly, refurbishing them can prove cost-effective. The cost and time involved in both activities are incomparable as well. Because money and inner connection of the manpower are important, therefore we can acknowledge the facts behind their conservation. However, in the present scenario, there is an urge to provide an upgraded appearance to the town. With progressive techniques, it is quite simple to bulldoze a building. The same place can be utilized for the development of the better property. Such a change will provide modernise look to the city on one hand, and better opportunities to aspiring architects on the other. Every bit of the space available for the new erection will be used according to the layout. The best example for this is the establishment of a multi-Storeyed parking facility, especially near the crowded areas. Further, over time, the strength of such properties gets weaker, which are prone to disasters. Overall, the swapping of new structures in place of old one may provide a brighter aspect to the economy. To conclude, this essay argued and discuss the reasons for the development of new buildings. In my opinion, I strongly believe that though old properties are valuable to the nation the change is required for the safety and betterment of the people residing in the society.