spoken communication is always more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In every era, communication is considered as one of the strongest methods of expression. However, it is assumed that the verbal statement carries more weightage as compared to written approach. This essay will argue against the said statement and will discuss how and why the written medium is considered a way ahead of the oral conversation. On the one hand, it is a fact that a spoken expression has more weight in terms of emotional aspect attached to it. This enhances the impact of the message. Further, the spontaneity in transmission makes it more favourable. Because of which, there are negligible chances for the distortion of the message. But, it is considered as an informal type of interaction wherein you can express your thoughts easily. All these characteristics may make it influential. On the other hand, though sending messages through a written channel is a traditional approach but, it is impactful too. Such a form has been practised for centuries, as a transfer of a verbal message was difficult due to the absence of technology. Two main reasons make it more effective. Firstly, it is considered as evidence against all the communication taken place amongst the people and is validated by the court of law. Secondly, the shelf life of this form is greater than others. Even in the present scenario, people prefer to send an email to discuss important matters rather than a telephonic conversation. In addition to this, after the video conferencing the final agreement is made in writing format only. Overall, the above-mentioned features make it more important. To conclude, this essay argued that how and in what ways written interaction overpowers the other form. In my opinion, I strongly believe that written expression being formal conduct of communication has more leverage despite it misses the human touch.