It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong. Punishment is important to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should Patent and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children?

One important stage in a kid's growth is certainly the development of a conscience, which is linked to the ability to tell right from wrong. This skill comes with time and good parenting, and my firm conviction is that beating does not have much of a role to play in this. So I have to disagree almost entirely with the given statement. To some extent the question depends on the age of the kid. To punish a very young kid is both wrong and foolish, as an infant will not understand what is happening or why he or she is being punished. Once the age of reason is reached. However, a toddler can be rewarded for good behaviour and discouraged from bad. This kind but firm approach will achieve more that harsh punishments, which might entail many negative consequences unintended by the parents. To help a teenager to learn the difference between wrong and right, teachers and parents should provide good role modelling in their own behaviour. After that, if sanctions are needed, the chastisement should not be of a physical nature, as that merely sends the message that is acceptable for large people to his smaller ones - an outcome which may well result in the youth starting to bully others. Nor should the retribution be in any way cruel. To conclude, teachers and parents can use a variety of methods to discipline their young charges, such as detention, withdrawal of privileges, and time-out. Making the retribution fit the crime is a useful notion, which would see children being made to pick up the rubbish they have dropped, clean up graffiti they have drawn, or apologies to someone they have hurt. In these ways responsibility develops in the child, which leads to much better future behaviour than does discipline.