Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home, as computer technology become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this will be a positive or negative development?

At present, due to the low cost and accessibility of digital devices, more and more people are inclined to move their jobs or studies to online platforms while working or learning from home. I believe that this development will certainly affect people beneficially in terms of reduction of their monthly spending and an increase in productivity in the long run. Working or studying from home provides people an opportunity to reduce their expenses significantly as they do not have to spend money on their travel costs and eating out. This is because, the remote works and distance learning programs render geographical location irrelevant, and this eliminates the need to pay for a public transport or lunch, which, in turn, dramatically reflects on people’s monthly savings. To illustrate, according to a recent survey, people generally spend 30% of their salaries or pocket money on covering the cost of their transportation. As a result, from a purely financial perspective, there is no doubt that this shift to digital working and learning makes perfect sense. Other than that, it is telecommuting from home for professional or educational purposes that reduces people’s stress related to their work or study outcomes; thus impacting on their productivity. That is to say that, more often than not, people feel anxiety or apprehension when they ought to meet their top-managers or examiners, and therefore organizing the work process at home in a more comfortable atmosphere helps people to eradicate such emotions and show better results. A prime example is online exams held in a recent Coronavirus pandemic period when students registered higher marks, rather than they did before the lockdown. In conclusion, I think that the increasing trend of e-working and e-learning is beneficial for people as on no account should the raise a growth in strength or number or importance rise of savings, while minimizing their travel costs and the boost of these individuals’ efficiency, due to lessening face-to-face interaction be ignored.