New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

As the high tech world has rapidly evolved through times, the new techs have exerted a huge impact on the young generation entertainment aspect. There has always been a controversial topic when it comes to whether these changes bring more disadvantages or advantages. This essay will discuss and provide evidence to examine if the drawbacks prevail the perks. On the one hand, the negative effects of spending too much of the leisure time on high tech devices are undeniable. To begin with, these gadgets have a propensity to be extremely addictive and as the consequences, children will be easily absorbed into the games and invest less effort on their integral tasks such as school works or in worse circumstances, lose their will to connect with their surroundings. To exemplify the situation, we can look into the bitter reality of game addiction. There was a gamer on YouTube once shared his own experience on the addiction, he said when a hobby became an uncontrollable obsession, it ruined his motivation to go outside, to finish classed or to meet anyone, even his closest friends. In addition, the unmanageable time spent on these activities can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle, follow up with many unpleasant illnesses, for instance, obesity or mental health problems. On the other hand, I believe that with the right solutions, the utilization of technologies can be much more effective for children to entertain themselves. First and foremost, latest technologies give youngster such variety of choice to broaden their knowledge and accumulating a wide range of skills while they an still diverting themselves. For examples, platforms like Netflix or YouTube have long been present innumerable amount of captivating, informative and educational contents for the young to enhance their comprehension about the world around them from their own home. Furthermore, the internet and the new generation of social media apps have taken the act of online studying to the next level by connecting students to students, students to teachers, from all over the planet, together. "Skill Share" is the prime illustration of this function of the internet, this forum provides leaner from anywhere with diversity of classes from wonderful, qualified mentors, friendly and accommodating environment to share their results and receive support from the mentors as well as from other learners. In conclusion, it's an undeniable fact that there are downsides of the use of technology for children for entertaining purposes, but I can ensure that with the proper approach, we can surpass the drawbacks and promote more of the wonderful, unlimited potential of the internet for the young to develop themselves.