Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements. What measures can be taken to protect them?

Advertising is an effective measure in modern marketing to help enterprises promptly capture | sales. However, from consumers’ view, it has some negative influences that require measures to prevent those bad impacts. Regarding the drawbacks of advertising, promotion, the first to mention is that many advertisements make people misled easily. Advertisements are meant to attract enterprise’s target customers so the function and quality of products tend to be exaggerated. As a result, buyers face higher possibility of buying the goods that are not of any real value to them. In addition, advertising sometimes encourages bad habits which are detrimental to people’s health. For example, fast food agencies always put emphasis on the advantageous side of their products and ignore the inherent peril of obesity. Furthermore, companies continuously push new products into the market to generate sales. Via advertising campaigns, these new products would quickly replace the old ones and the old ones will be disposed of despite the fact that they are still in good use. This is a recurring cycle that causes a waste of resources for customers. To save this situation, it is urgent that governments take action to protect consumer’s rights by introducing comprehensive legislation on the advertising industry. Tougher sanctions should also be imposed on any company that violates the law. This would certainly increase agencies’ awareness of launching ethical advertisements. Additionally, associations of consumer’s right protection should play most crucial roles in this battle. To say more, it is vital that consumers protect themselves. They should learn to become wise consumers by making research and analysing thoroughly what they need before giving buying decisions. To sum up, it is certain that bad advertisements will continuously fill the television screen, magazines, mailbox, and so on. So, to prevent their negative impacts, there is a need for both government’s interference and consumers’ wisdom.