With the rise in e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

A book has been considered as a best friend by the people around the world who enjoys reading. As the result of the technology advancement, paper made books are turned into electronic books and few people embrace this advancement where others still only enjoy reading paper made books. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this new change. Firstly, the electronic books has been considered as the environment friendly option. As we don’t need to destroy trees to produce paper, the production of electronic books is not harming the environment. As the fact, a recent scientific research indicates that tons of the trees have been destroyed to facilitate the need of the paper in the world. Furthermore, another benefit would be ease of use. Many electronic books can be stored in the laptop, mobile or in a tablet which can be carried easily and used wherever the reader travel as an example, it has been observed that people tend to read electronic books in an aeroplane, train or on a bus using their own compact electronic devices. On the other hand, electronic book usage causes serious damages to the eyes when a reader reads for a long time. The brightness emitted from the electronic devices harms the nerves in the human eyes, which causes eye related issues in the long run. To add on, electronic books are not suitable for everyone. Readers can be in a variety of age groups with different level of technological expertise. As a result electronic books become a hassle for people who are elderly and not a fan of technologically advanced electronic devices. In conclusion, the emerging of electronic books brought out benefits such as easy usage, environment friendly production. However, as a fact, there are noticeable disadvantages as well. This includes that electronic books are not suitable for all types of readers, as well as, this causes serious damage to eyes in the long run.