Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones, and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Exponential increase in population is one of the tremendous problems across the all the countries in the world. Especially urban areas are always overcrowded due to many factors which results various issues. This essay will discuss few problems and the solutions to handle the excess amount of population around urban areas. There are numerous issues occurs due to the excess crowing around the urban space, Firstly, health related problems faces by the people who lives very closely with limited amount of space is one of the serious issues. Due to the fact that higher population density in the metropolitan areas People live very close in cities, different types of diseases spread very quickly and easily among the people. For example, a recent scientific research suggests that diseases spread through human interaction have more impact in urban areas compared to rural areas. Secondly, the cost of living in metropolitan is always high comparing to other places. Due to the demand and limited space, the rent and other services are always priced higher. For example, prices of house in metropolitan areas are very expensive compared to the same structured house from outside the urban range, these problems are common across all the metropolitans around the world. To avoid these problems, both government and individual citizen need take some responsible action to avoid these issues getting worst. The government can focus on investing in developments in rural areas. For example, schools and new airports can be built so that rural sites also will get developed and this will eventually help urban areas getting overcrowded. On the other hand, individuals also can open their businesses away from metropolitan areas or in rural areas. This will not only help rural sites to get developed, but also help metropolitan areas to avoid overcrowding. In conclusion, overcrowding leads to many problems in metropolitan areas such as health related issues and high cost of living. However, the government and its individual citizens can avoid this getting worsen by investing and developing rural areas so that people will not tend to live only in cities.