People believe that in order to reduce road accidents it should be mandatory for drivers to retake the driving test every 3 years. Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

There is no doubt that road accidents have increased in vast numbers across the globe. Some people are of the opinion that recurring the driving test of the drivers after every quarter of the year will help minimize road accidents. However, I completely disagree with the above statement and believe that road infrastructure should be improved and people should follow traffic rules to reduce these accidents. To begin with, there are many highways in most of the developing countries with maximum speed of 50 kilometres per hour, which have big potholes and the road surfaces are unevenly constructed that makes it difficult to control vehicles. Hence, the condition of the roads sometimes gets worse during monsoon and sometimes rainy season. As a result, driving person met with an accident and therefore, results in a person’s death at the end. For example, according to a survey, more than 50% of the road accident occur due to bad roads or potholes. So, I think roads should be improved by the government. Furthermore, the other main reason of the road accidents are absence of the strict traffic rules. Firstly, most of the drivers do not obey traffic rules, as there are no much fine for disobeying rules. For example, if a driver is driving 70 kilometres per hour in the zone of 50, he/she can escape easily by paying small amount of fine. On the other hand, pedestrians in most of the cases, do not cross the roads through the zebra crossing which led to increase in road accidents. For this reason, I believe that government should some strict rules. To conclude, to handle this issue of increasing in road accidents, the government should be working on progress of road infrastructure and impose strict laws, rather than making it compulsory to take retests after every 3 years.