Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with knowledge of the dangers. Smokers should, therefore, expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

Smoking is injurious to health and can lead to a number of deadly diseases; however, smokers still continue to smoke. Therefore, many think that hefty amounts should be charged from them for their medication. I completely disagree with this statement. In my opinion, educating them about the severe consequences of smoking and imposing heavy taxes on nicotine products would be more effective to cope with this situation. To begin with, Some people think that imposing large medical bills for the treatment of smokers is wise because they are consuming cigarettes without worrying about its dangerous impacts on their health. Hence, they should pay more than non-smokers. This would be totally unjustifiable because many of them are uneducated and unaware of its negative impacts. Therefore, it would be far better to educate them rather than charging extra money. Indeed, free or cheap medical treatment is one of the basis requirements and imposing extra cost will snatch their right. Thus, it should not be considered. Moreover, there are many other effective ways to mitigate this problem, firstly, governments can impose heavy taxes on cigarettes and cigars. This is because, an increased price will automatically reduce its consumption among people. This would be a win win situation for both as government can generate revenue form these taxes and a portion of it could be utilized for the treatment of smokers. Therefore, alternative solutions should be considered to curb this issue. Also, councils should introduce free awareness campaigns to educate drug addicted people about how they can get rid of this habit. Furthermore, councils should also provide specific medicines for the same at a very nominal price. To conclude, many people are addicted to smoking even after knowing its severe effects on their health, but charging extra money from them just because of this is completely unwise. In my view, governments should take other measures, mentioned above, to solve this issue