The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

Nowadays, the labour market is becoming increasingly competitive, and a variety of old candidates must fight with the young ones to get an occupation. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems that have resulted from this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle them. There are two major problems that the older generation has to encounter when contending against the young. Firstly, the opportunity to have a decent profession for the elderly is narrowed due to age discrimination. In fact, various firms believe that older job seekers are not able to acquire knowledge of technology quickly or use modern devices fluently, such as laptops or smartphones, and this fallacy might lead them to fail the interviews even if they satisfy the job description. Secondly, the health of older applicants might be harmed. This is because they need to enhance their performance to catch up with the young's pace by working overtime, thereby causing serious mental problems such as depression, anxiety, and overthinking, which could reduce the quality of their life. To combat these worrying issues, t he following feasible steps should be taken. One remedy is that governing bodies should stop discrimination against older workers by passing radical laws. For example, imposing heavy fines might prevent companies from having biased outlooks and behaving unfairly with aged employees, which could give them an equal chance to fill the vacancy. Furthermore, the aged should find a suitable occupation. To be more specific, they should apply for employment that is relevant to their previous work rather than a new field. In addition, this choice could not only utilize their experience and expertise to adopt the requirements of that position but also cultivate other relevant job skills to become a professional manager and guide them to a successful career path. In conclusion, there are some serious repercussions attributable to the fierce rivalry between the elderly and the young in the labour market, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with these issues.