in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, small native shops within towns have been locked up because the regular buyers would rather go to bigger shopping outlets. In my opinion, this is an adverse trend. This essay will discuss the reasons for my point of view. One reason why I think buyers abandoning their local stores to bigger ones is a negative development because this trend leads to a decrease in revenue. A reduction of buyers results in lower profits being made by these shop owners, and consequently leads to a decrease in the amount of taxes paid to the city and ultimately, a decline in the revenue generated. An obvious example of this happened in Florida, USA when residents travelled to Disneyland for shopping because the malls there were fancier than the native ones. This led to a sharp decline in internally-generated revenue, such that many of the town's ongoing projects were abandoned due to lack of funds. Another reason why I feel customers deserting native stores to purchase goods in bigger ones is because of unemployment. Resident shops not being patronised but abandoned for bigger shops in the cities and eventually locked up leads to massive unemployment. For instance, a research conducted at Harvard shows that the towns where the shops are patronized by their citizens enjoy a higher percentage of employment than towns where the residents do not patronise their shop owners. In conclusion, in recent years, many indigenous shores are being abandoned for larger ones. In my opinion, I think this is an unwelcome development because of the reasons highlighted in the essay.