Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals believe that the extinction of certain types of vegetation and creatures is the main cause of environmental issues. On the other hand, some say there are greater threats to our natural habitat. This essay agrees with the first opinion because of the recent global warming crisis and the damage made to the natural cycle of life. With the recent advancements and the demand for more natural resources, nature and the life forms belonging to it have been severely damaged. This has resulted in the natural cycle of life being interrupted, causing various issues for animals or plants. This problem is known as the Butterfly Effect, meaning one small action can result in major changes. For instance, if some kind of plant that is the main source of food for birds is lost because humans destroyed them, it will cause the birds to have trouble finding food, which will lead to them decreasing in number and the animals preying on them will also be in trouble. With this damage coming back at humans in a full circle. Although, there are many arguing that there are other major issues to our environmental hardships that are nothing compared to the loss of animals or plants. For example, global warming which results in the rise of sea levels and cities going under water and destroying living conditions has far more casualties than the former. Another example is ocean pollution, with human wastes being dumped into them due to ignorance. But, the root of these problems is the same as the former argument, with interruption of nature's cycle. To conclude, losing plants and creatures due to resources and bigger threats such as global warming are believed to be different problems, on the contrary, they are the same topic with both being the result of damage to the environment.